Wednesday, April 27, 2011

Gran Canariaa


When i heard something about "Gran Canaria", immediately in my mind there was a place of white beaches with crystal clear blue seas, palm trees in every spot i could think of etc, you get the picture. Well, not exaclty..except the palm trees.

Totally different scenery.. Not bad or ugly or anything, but different than what i (we) expected. -More below-


In Ryanair we Trust so we booked a 30euro round-trip from Barcelona (cheapest one there was to anywhere) so we could say to girls "hey babe, I've been to Gran Canaria ;)"

As we arrived at the airport (expecting to melt from the heat, which we certainly didn't) we got out, tried to find a cheap bus, we did, and got to Las Palmas, which is the capital of the island and of the Canary islands. On our way to the city I saw an IKEA , which i truly did not expect, anyways. Once we got there, 8 a.m Sunday, silence was like the main component of everything. Palm trees everywhere, and all sorts of weird looking trees, houses painted in green, blue, yellow red blabla, chilled out people walking slower than the way walk when you're drunk, and in general I had the feeling I just got out of Europe and got dropped into Mexico or something, which was the main ingredient of joy in this trip..

Anyways, don't want to make a diary or something, that was like my first thoughts as i stepped on the island.

Generally, the island is split into two by a huge mountain (2000m!):
-the north part, which we found out is pretty much cloudy 40% of the time with temps in the low to mid 20's, where the Capital is(Las Palmas), and the industrial part of the island.

-and the south part where the touristy stuff is, with ridiculously huge resorts build into mountains offering shitty all-inclusive packages. As for the weather, it is always sunny with temps in the low 30's (pretty sweet).


All you need to do is to rent a car, and go around the whole island, you get everything, beach, mountain, nice little villages, good food, awesome views.















Monday, April 18, 2011

Barcelona


Well i found out why Barcelona seems to be so "hip" these days.. Incredibly beautiful city - it gives you the feeling that you are not really in a big shitty but in a village or something- . I guess you could say its the city that has everything for everyone. Amazing coastline with palm trees and hot chicks on the beach, beautiful small streets to walk around, uncountable squares to skate in, very cheap beer, weed on the streets, incredible number of beautiful girls, amazing buildings and so on. Its the kind of city you definitely don't need a travel guide for, the city that makes you walk around all day and night,from avenues to every single side-street, from Barceloneta up to Tibidabo avenue.

The only thing that SUCKS is that n o o n e speaks freakin English, not even the tourist information dude. You only hear "BURRITO BURRITO QUESADILLA BURITTO" , well thats how they sound to me and max.



(on our way to tibidabo, Mike)



(on top of Tibidabo!)

Must things to do in my opinion:

-Firstly, rent a bike at the plaza de Espanya for only $6/24hr, put it in the metro, stop at the northern most subway stop you can find, get out and just downhill the whole city.

-Get on top of tibidabo mountain -try to climb it- anyway find a way to get on top of it. amazing view of the whole city.

-Chill on the beach over at barceloneta. just CHILL. buy beer from the nearby store and just sit there, because when you re at the beach without doing anything, you re still doing something.. YOU ARE AT THE BEACH!
(doin' something)

- Ride your bike along the beach, looking at babes and living the dream.

I don't know what else. I guess you have to figure it out, that's what is so crazy about this city, you can be your own travel guide.
(crutches, skateboard, on foot just..







Wednesday, March 2, 2011

make it cheap

OK. didnt know how to start this whole thing. anyways, i thought of starting off by the thing I always try to do, and what anyone would want to do, and that is travel CHEAP. by cheap i mean CHEAP. there is a lot of ways you can save money while tripping. firstly, you have to book the cheapest tickets possible. the first thing you have to keep in mind is the timing, timing is everything. what i mean now, you don't book a ticket 13years or 4months before and it comes out cheaper, you have to wait like a month/month and a half before to book, its the best price. also, try to avoid booking during weekends or major holidays like easter/xmas, more expensive as well.

Alright since we have the timing out of the way, lets see what happens with the airline. There are quite a few low cost airlines around europe (and no, low-cost not =dead), for example the most famous one is Ryanair. i mean i just booked a ticket from volos, greece to rome and it came out 4euro, thats ridiculous, not even the minimun cab fare is that cheap. and yeah ryanair is around 25years and no fatal accidents have been reported and look at AirFrance which has a couple. Furthermore you could look at EasyJet, german wings, norweigian and you can take a look for more HERE. you could always look through some sites which you book the tickets through them like momondo.

Now, the accomondation, well its always easy through couchsurfing, you get to stay for free, but more importantly, you are with someone who can show you how living in that certain city is, not just the touristy crappy staff. otherwise hostels. which you can find here and there, but you can always negotiate a better deal once you re there, FACT.

thats about it i think..

Monday, February 28, 2011

hallo!!

As I enjoy and love exploring new places and am studying the freakin subject, i decided to create this blog to post different travelling ideas(or as they call it TRAVEL DEALS!!) , post photos of past trips(mine and/or others), and in general thought it would be a cool idea..